Professional mass

The Biemann award given by the American Society for Mass Spectrometry this year goes to Julia Laskin of the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. The international award recognizes her contribution to our understanding of the activation, fragmentation and deposition of large molecules when they collide with surfaces. Laskin accepted the award at the ASMS annual conference June 3 in Denver, Colorado. As well as receiving this prestigious award she delivered a lecture on her research to almost 7000 conference delegates.