Several scientists in the UK will receive awards for their efforts from in the "New Year Honours" bestowed by Her Majesty the Queen. Professor Shankar Balasubramanian, a chemist at the University of Cambridge, will become a knight of the realm, and thus a "Sir". John Pyle, also of Cambridge, will receive a CBE "Commander of the British Empire" while Professor Sir Alec Jeffreys who "invented" DNA fingerprinting will receive an additional award to become a "Companion of Honour."