Environmental award

Richard B. Alley of Pennsylvania State University and Veerabhadran "Ram" Ramanathan of the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego will share the 2009 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement "for their scientific contributions that advanced understanding of how human activities influence global climate, and alter oceanic, glacial and atmospheric phenomena in ways that adversely affect planet Earth." The award consists of a cash award of $200,000, to be split between the recipients, and the gold Tyler Prize medallion. It was established in 1973 by the late John and Alice Tyler as an international award honoring achievements in environmental science, policy, energy and health of worldwide importance conferring great benefit on humanity.