Chemistry Nobel 2017

Jacques Dubochet (University of Lausanne, Switzerland), Joachim Frank (Columbia University, New York, USA), and Richard Henderson (MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK) share this year's chemistry Nobel prize for their work on the development of cryo-electron microscopy. The technique is used for the high-resolution structure determination of biomolecules in solution and is often used alongside X-ray crystallography and nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy and even instead of those powerful techniques where atomic-resolution structures are inaccessible without it.